🐷
Do you also love animals? Become a supporter!

Is yeast vegan?

What is yeast and is it vegan?

Oftentimes, foods can be clearly categorized as vegan or not. However, some — such as yeast — can lead to confusion. This article reviews different types of yeast and assesses whether yeast can be considered vegan.

What is yeast and what is it used for?

Yeast is a single-celled fungus that naturally grows in soil and on plant surfaces.

There are hundreds of strains of yeast, and while some of them are harmful to humans, others can serve beneficial functions.

For instance, yeast can help foods, such as bread, beer, and wine, ferment or leaven. It can also be used to add flavor to foods or enhance their texture, as is often the case in the cheesemaking industry.

Yeast is naturally rich in B vitamins and sometimes fortified with additional vitamins and minerals. Therefore, certain varieties can be used to enhance the nutritional content of foods or meals.

Finally, it can be used as a medium to research, produce, or test pharmaceutical drugs intended to treat a range of medical conditions.

Why most vegans include yeast in their diet

Given that yeast is a living organism, some people wonder whether it can be included in a vegan diet.

However, unlike animals, yeasts do not have a nervous system. This means that they don’t experience pain — which completely differentiates them from animals.

Since eating yeast does not cause it to suffer and involves no animal exploitation or cruelty, yeast is typically considered a vegan food. Although, a very small minority of vegans may still avoid it, as it is a living organism.

Certain types, such as nutritional or torula yeasts, are particularly popular additions to a vegan diet, as they help add an umami, meaty, or cheesy flavor to meals without the use of animal products.

Plus, nutritional yeast is packed with B vitamins, which are among the nutrients that vegan diets often lack.

Types of yeast

Yeast comes in a variety of types, but only a few are currently used to make, flavor, or increase the nutrient content of foods, including:

Brewer’s yeast

This live culture of S. cerevisiae yeast is typically used to brew beer. The yeast cells are killed during the brewing process and sometimes consumed as a vitamin- and mineral-rich supplement.

Baker’s yeast

This live S. cerevisiae yeast culture is used to leaven bread and other baked goods. The yeast is killed during cooking and provides bread with its characteristic yeasty flavor.

Nutritional yeast

This inactive S. cerevisiae yeast culture can be used to add a savory, cheesy, or nutty flavor to foods. Nutritional yeast is deactivated during manufacturing and often fortified with additional vitamins and minerals.

Torula yeast

An inactive culture of C. utilis yeast, which is used to turn wood into paper, torula yeast is typically used in the manufacturing of dog food. That said, it can also add a meaty, smoky, or umami flavor to human foods.

Extract yeast

This food flavoring is made from the inactive cell contents of S. cerevisiae yeast. Yeast extracts are used to add umami flavor to packaged foods or make spreads like Marmite and Vegemite.

Consuming raw yeast is generally discouraged, as it can lead to bloating, cramps, constipation, or diarrhea. It may also increase the risk of fungal infections, especially in people who are critically ill or have a compromised immune system.

One exception is the probiotic yeast S. boulardii, which most people can safely consume live in probiotic supplements.

Otherwise, yeasts that are made inactive through cooking, fermentation, or their manufacturing process can be safely used to boost the flavor or nutritional content of foods.

✍️  January 24, 2021
Should I go vegan?

Wondering if you should become vegan? Take this quiz and we'll tell you if you should become vegan.

Start Quiz

More articles you might like

People who are reading “Is yeast vegan?”, also love these articles:

Vegan makeup and cosmetics guide

Cruelty-free vegan makeup is easy to find. There is no reason to buy cosmetics that contain animal by-products, or are associated with animal testing when superior cruelty-free brands are widely available. Check out our guide below to every explore vegan suppliers of conceivable sort of cosmetic, plus soaps, bath products, deodorants, and shampoos.

Read now

Is wine vegan?

Many people are unaware that wine, although made from grapes, may have been made using animal-derived products. Find out why most wines aren't vegan and how to spot vegan wine.

Read now

Is pizza vegan?

The good news first, pizza can be vegan! But it all depends on the toppings. Find out how to order vegan pizza and which ingredients make pizza not suitable for vegans.

Read now

Fried tofu

Fried tofu is one of the easiest ways of eating tofu. It's a super simple and easy-to-make recipe made with inexpensive and common ingredients that you can find at any supermarket.

Read now
Browse all articles