Do you also love animals? Become a supporter!

Is Nutella vegan?

Is this popular chocolate-hazelnut spread vegan?

Who can resist that perfect combination of chocolate and hazelnuts? The answer is no one. Find out if Nutella is vegan and discover great alternatives to Nutella.

What is Nutella?

Nutella is a chocolate-hazelnut spread enjoyed all over the world.

It’s commonly used on toast, pancakes, and other breakfast treats and incorporated into innovative recipes, such as Nutella banana bread or Nutella-stuffed crêpes.

This article tells you whether Nutella is vegan and provides a list of alternatives, as well as a recipe to make your own.

Is Nutella vegan?

According to its website, Nutella contains eight ingredients: sugar, palm oil, hazelnuts, skim milk powder, cocoa, lecithin, and vanillin (a synthetic vanilla flavoring).

Lecithin is an emulsifier that’s added to blend the other ingredients, allowing for a smooth consistency. It’s usually egg- or soy-based. In Nutella, it’s made from soybeans, making this ingredient vegan.

However, Nutella contains skim milk powder, which is cow’s milk that undergoes a quick heating and drying process to remove liquids and create a powder.

This ingredient makes Nutella non-vegan.

Vegan Nutella alternatives

There are many options if you’re looking for a delicious vegan alternative to Nutella.

Plain nut butter

For a quick, healthy swap, choose natural nut butter without added ingredients, such as sugar and oils. Raw nut kinds of butter are much lower in sugar than Nutella and provide a hearty dose of protein and healthy fats.

Almond and peanut butter are excellent vegan choices that offer approximately 7 grams of filling protein per 2 tablespoons.

Hazelnut butter is also a great option. However, with 5 grams of protein per 2 tablespoons, it provides slightly less of this critical macronutrient.

Vegan-friendly Nutella alternatives

If you’re looking for a vegan version of Nutella, many companies have created their own varieties. It’s best to visit your local store and look for vegan Nutella alternatives.

How to make vegan chocolate spread

Making your own spread is another excellent way to ensure your chocolate-hazelnut spread is vegan.

In Nutella, lecithin and skim milk powder are added as emulsifiers to improve texture and increase shelf life. You can skip these ingredients when making your own spread.

Sugar, hazelnuts, and cocoa powder are naturally vegan and can be used in your homemade version. Meanwhile, vanilla extract can replace vanillin.

To make a vegan chocolate spread, you need:

To make the spread:

  1. Add the hazelnuts to a blender or food processor and mix until paste forms.
  2. Add the rest of the ingredients and blend until smooth.
  3. Be patient, as this can take a few minutes.

Once you achieve a smooth consistency, scoop the spread into a jar and cap it with a lid. It should last for about one month in the refrigerator.

✍️  February 6, 2021
Should I go vegan?

Wondering if you should become vegan? Take this quiz and we'll tell you if you should become vegan.

Start Quiz

More articles you might like

People who are reading “Is Nutella vegan?”, also love these articles:

Is coffee vegan?

It may seem like a silly question to ask if coffee is vegan, but the vegan suitability of coffee can be a little complicated.

Read now

Is beer vegan?

Not all beers are vegan. In this article, you will learn why some beers are not vegan nor vegetarian.

Read now

Vegan makeup and cosmetics guide

Cruelty-free vegan makeup is easy to find. There is no reason to buy cosmetics that contain animal by-products, or are associated with animal testing when superior cruelty-free brands are widely available. Check out our guide below to every explore vegan suppliers of conceivable sort of cosmetic, plus soaps, bath products, deodorants, and shampoos.

Read now

Is wine vegan?

Many people are unaware that wine, although made from grapes, may have been made using animal-derived products. Find out why most wines aren't vegan and how to spot vegan wine.

Read now
Browse all articles