🐷
Do you also love animals? Become a supporter!

Is margarine vegan?

What is margarine made of, and is it vegan?

As margarine is made with vegetable oils, margarine is a potential alternative to butter for vegans. Still, you may wonder whether all types of margarine are vegan. This article explains how to tell whether your margarine is vegan and provides a few additional vegan butter substitutes.

Is margarine vegan?

The short answer is: Most kinds of margarine are vegan.

However, a few may contain ingredients derived from dairy or other animal products, making them unsuitable for vegan diets.

Vegan butter alternatives based on whole foods may be a healthier option, including hummus, avocado, or nut and coconut butter. These provide more nutrients and beneficial plant compounds than refined margarine.

Are all types of margarine vegan?

The short answer is: Most kinds of margarine are vegan, but some may contain animal-derived ingredients like milk, lactose, whey, or casein, making them unsuitable for vegans.

Margarine is a butter substitute typically made by combining water and vegetable oils, such as soybean, corn, palm, canola, or olive oils.

Ingredients like salt, colorings, and natural or artificial flavorings are sometimes added as well.

Therefore, most margarines contain absolutely no animal products, making them a suitable vegan alternative to butter.

Some manufacturers use milk instead of water or add ingredients derived from animals, such as lactose, whey, or casein. Margarines containing these ingredients are not considered vegan.

How to tell whether your margarine is vegan

The best way to determine whether your margarine is vegan is by looking at its ingredient list.

Vegan margarines should not contain any of the following animal-derived ingredients:

Whey

This is the liquid that separates from milk during the cheesemaking process.

Casein

These are the curds leftover after milk is coagulated to produce cheese.

Lactose

This type of sugar is naturally found in milk and dairy products.

Animal fat

Margarines were initially made from animal fats, such as cow, duck, or sheep, and a few still include this type of fat.

Vitamin D3

This vitamin is commonly made from lanolin, derived from sheep’s wool.

Marine oil

This oil derived from fish or other marine animals is sometimes used in margarines, especially shortening types.

Lecithin

This fatty substance is sometimes derived from animal tissues or egg yolks.

Suet

This hard type of fat, which is found around the loins or kidneys of animals, is sometimes used to make margarine.

Tallow

Derived from cattle or sheep, this fat is sometimes used to make margarine.

Also, many brands now specify whether their margarine is vegan on the packaging.

Healthier vegan butter substitutes

Though most margarines are made from plant-based ingredients, they remain a refined product. This means that they’re made from extracted components of whole foods, such as plant oils, rather than from the whole foods themselves.

Consequently, they likely contain fewer vitamins, minerals, and other beneficial plant compounds than unrefined sources of plant fats, such as coconuts, avocados, olives, nuts, or seeds (3Trusted Source).

Some varieties are also made using a process known as hydrogenation, which creates harmful trans fats.

Trans fats are a form of unsaturated fat that has been processed to resemble the structure of saturated fat. This change in structure is thought to be responsible for various health issues.

For instance, trans fats are commonly linked to an increased risk of heart disease and neurodegenerative conditions, as well as premature death (4Trusted Source, 5Trusted Source).

For these reasons, many countries, including the United States, have restricted or banned the use of artificial trans fats. Small amounts may still be present, as foods providing less than 0.5 grams of this type of fat per serving are labeled as containing 0 grams (6Trusted Source).

Therefore, you may benefit from picking whole sources of plant fats over margarine whenever possible.

Here are a few whole-food-based vegan butter substitutes that work as a great alternative to margarine spreads:

Plant oils, including olive or coconut oil, can also provide an excellent alternative to butter or margarine, especially for cooking or baking.

✍️  January 24, 2021
Should I go vegan?

Wondering if you should become vegan? Take this quiz and we'll tell you if you should become vegan.

Start Quiz

More articles you might like

People who are reading “Is margarine vegan?”, also love these articles:

Is coffee vegan?

It may seem like a silly question to ask if coffee is vegan, but the vegan suitability of coffee can be a little complicated.

Read now

Is beer vegan?

Not all beers are vegan. In this article, you will learn why some beers are not vegan nor vegetarian.

Read now

Vegan makeup and cosmetics guide

Cruelty-free vegan makeup is easy to find. There is no reason to buy cosmetics that contain animal by-products, or are associated with animal testing when superior cruelty-free brands are widely available. Check out our guide below to every explore vegan suppliers of conceivable sort of cosmetic, plus soaps, bath products, deodorants, and shampoos.

Read now

Is wine vegan?

Many people are unaware that wine, although made from grapes, may have been made using animal-derived products. Find out why most wines aren't vegan and how to spot vegan wine.

Read now
Browse all articles