🐷
Do you also love animals? Become a supporter!

Is butter vegan?

The difference between butter, margarine, and vegan butter

We spread it on toast, melt it in a frying pan, and cream it with sugar. But have we thought about how butter is made?

The short answer: Butter is not vegan as it comes from cream, which comes from a cow.

But there are great alternatives to butter that taste the same, and there is even vegan butter!

What is butter?

Butter is made from cream, the higher-fat part of milk, which, as we know, comes from a cow.

Traditionally, the definition of butter is straightforward. Butter contains little else other than the cream. But nowadays, dozens of different products labeled “butter” on the grocery store shelves, from nut butter to fruit butter to almost anything that spreads like butter.

Since butter comes from cream, which comes from a cow, it is clear that butter is not vegan and should be avoided by following a vegan diet.

Butter alternatives

So traditionally, butter is not vegan, but there are many great alternatives to butter:

Margarine

There are several versions of margarine on the store shelves made with a variety of ingredients. Mainly, margarine is a mixture of plant-based fat, along with skim milk, water, flavors, and coloring. Some kinds of margarine don’t contain any dairy at all.

Margarine was created as a less expensive alternative to butter since making butter requires a lot of milk! Therefore, margarine is not an exact vegan substitute for butter but can be if the ingredient list does not include any animal products. So it is essential to always read labels carefully!

Learn more about margarine

Vegan butter

Vegan butter is not butter. It is not made from milk, or cream, or any product coming from an animal.

Usually, vegan butter is made using oil and other plant-based ingredients to create a product that looks, and tastes like butter, but is not butter.

So now when you hear or see the words “vegan butter,” you will realize it’s more like a vegan butter-like product. Many companies label their product as “vegan margarine” to avoid confusion to consumers, which is a bit more accurate.

Vegan butter ingredients

Most companies that produce vegan butter make vegan butter from palm, canola, soybean, flax, and olive oils.

As many vegan butter is made with palm oil, most vegans try to avoid those because it has been linked to deforestation and habitat destruction.

Vegan butter can also be made without palm oil – coconut oil, olive oil, sunflower oil, and even ingredients like cashews, almonds, macadamia nuts, and aquafaba — the brine from a can of chickpeas.

Does vegan butter taste like butter?

The flavor of vegan butter varies by brand. There are couples of companies out there that produce butter that tastes very similar to real butter. We recommend that you try out 2-3 brands from your local store and see which vegan butter you prefer.

✍️  February 6, 2021
Should I go vegan?

Wondering if you should become vegan? Take this quiz and we'll tell you if you should become vegan.

Start Quiz

More articles you might like

People who are reading “Is butter vegan?”, also love these articles:

Is coffee vegan?

It may seem like a silly question to ask if coffee is vegan, but the vegan suitability of coffee can be a little complicated.

Read now

Is beer vegan?

Not all beers are vegan. In this article, you will learn why some beers are not vegan nor vegetarian.

Read now

Vegan makeup and cosmetics guide

Cruelty-free vegan makeup is easy to find. There is no reason to buy cosmetics that contain animal by-products, or are associated with animal testing when superior cruelty-free brands are widely available. Check out our guide below to every explore vegan suppliers of conceivable sort of cosmetic, plus soaps, bath products, deodorants, and shampoos.

Read now

Is wine vegan?

Many people are unaware that wine, although made from grapes, may have been made using animal-derived products. Find out why most wines aren't vegan and how to spot vegan wine.

Read now
Browse all articles